Driving Under Suspension in PA
There are many reasons why your license might be suspended in Pennsylvania:
- You have accumulated 11 or more points on your driver’s license for violating traffic rules
- You are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or of DUI-related offenses
- You are convicted of certain types of crimes, such as homicide by vehicle, stolen vehicle titles and plates, fake ID possession, drug possession, reckless driving, highway racing or other offenses
- You refuse to submit to a breath alcohol content or blood alcohol content test
- You have insurance issues
There may be other reasons why your license could be suspended or revoked. If you are without a license, it is important not to drive on Pennsylvania streets. If you do and you are caught, the penalty for driving under suspension may surprise you. You may face fines of $200 or $1,000, you may face jail time of 30 days to six months and your license may be suspended or revoked for an even longer period of time.
What to Do If Your License Is Revoked or Suspended
If you lose your privilege to drive, you will want to contact an attorney about getting a suspension appeal or hearing. You may be able to get credit for time served or for having an interlock device, or your attorney may be able to work with you to get you back on the road.
The other thing you’ll want to do if your license has been suspended or revoked is to stop driving. Join a car share program, arrange to work from home or rely on public transportation or even taxis. While it can be less convenient and more expensive to rely on other forms of transportation, being caught driving under suspension in PA results in a penalty that is even more costly.
What Are the Long-Term Consequences of Driving With a Suspended License?
In some cases, driving with a suspended license is a summary offense and results in a $200 fine. If you are driving while under DUI suspension, however, you face 60-90 days in jail and $500 in fines. If you are driving after a DUI suspension and are caught with alcohol in your system, you will generally face jail for at least 90 days and a $1,000 fine.
For a second offense, you may face third-degree misdemeanor charges, with fines of $2,500 and jail time of six months or more. A third offense may be considered a first-degree misdemeanor and may result in two years of imprisonment as well as $5,000 in fines. In all cases, you may face an even longer period of time without your license.
In addition, you may face long-term consequences such as a criminal record and increased insurance rates. These may last long after you have paid off your fines.
If you are accused of driving with a suspended license, contact MPL Law Firm in York, PA for a consultation. Our legal team is proud to serve the Pennsylvania area, and we have supported clients who were charged with a suspended license even though they were not aware of their suspension. Our goal with our clients is to listen and then provide the best support we can. We keep our clients up to date about their cases and work with them every step of the way. Contact us today for a consultation to find out what we can do in your case.