Experienced York, PA DUI Defense Attorney
Even a single DUI conviction can dramatically alter your life, limiting your job prospects, straining your finances and causing you to lose your license for a year or longer. With over 40 years of experience, we know the law inside out and will work aggressively to build an effective case in your defense.
Our business has been built on relationships of mutual understanding and trust between our attorneys and clients. We believe everyone deserves the chance to put their past mistakes behind them and move on with their lives. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in York, the lawyers at MPL Law Firm may be able to help. Our DUI Attorney Richard Robinson serves clients in York County, Adams County, Cumberland County, and Lancaster County.
Know the consequences of a first-time DUI charge.
Pennsylvania has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country, even for first-time offenders. Getting caught and convicted of driving under the influence can result in major fines, jail time and more. The severity of the penalty is typically determined by your blood alcohol level (BAC):
- A BAC between .08 and .099 can result in a $300 fine, six months’ probation and mandatory alcohol safety training.
- A BAC between .10 and .159 can result in at least 48 hours in jail (possibly up to six months), fines of $500 or more, and a one year license suspension.
- A BAC over 0.16 can result in at least 72 hours in jail, fines as high as $5000 and a one year license suspension.
One of the unique features of this penalty structure is that it is determined almost entirely by roadside testing. Understanding the natural flaws of these tests — and the legalities that surround them — is often the key to mounting an effective argument in your defense.
PA’s implied consent laws can have serious implications for your case.
In order to fully understand your legal options and obligations following a DUI arrest in PA, it’s important to be familiar with the state’s implied consent laws. Under the law, when an arresting officer pulls you over with reasonable suspicion of drinking and driving, you implicitly agree to have your blood, breath or urine tested to determine your blood alcohol content. Refusing to take a test results in an automatic one-year license suspension for a first offense.
Implied consent laws give you the right to request additional medical testing following the test administered by the arresting officer. However, a second positive result can be used in court as further evidence against you.
An injury or fatality can increase the potential penalties of a DUI conviction.
The majority of DUI cases in Pennsylvania are either an ungraded, third-degree or other misdemeanor. While penalties can still be severe — including up to six months in prison — the prosecutor can seek even more serious charges by applying for a sentencing enhancement, which reclassifies your case as a felony. This is typically done when there is an accident in which someone other than the driver was hurt or killed, though that injury does not have to be severe. Potential charges include aggravated assault while under the influence and homicide under the influence. Homicide under the influence is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison for each victim.
A DUI defense must consider the possibility for these and other charges and prepare for them accordingly. In certain cases, a strong defense may be able to get you cleared of all charges. Other times, attempting to negotiate a lower charge may be your best option. When you meet with the DUI defense attorney at York, PA’s MPL Law Firm, we’ll review the details of your case and give you an honest assessment of your best options moving forward.
Drug DUIs in Pennsylvania.
In York, PA and around the country, attitudes towards marijuana and other drug use are currently in a period of transition. However, one side effect has been the downplaying of risks associated with driving under the influence.
Unfortunately, many people don’t realize that, in Pennsylvania, a marijuana DUI is treated exactly the same as an alcohol-related offense. Consequences of a conviction may include fines, jail time and the loss of your license for an extended period of time.